Serie A Legends – Gianluigi Buffon

Gianluigi Buffon is an Italian professional footballer who is widely considered to be one of the greatest goalkeepers of all time. He currently plays for Parma in the Serie B, and is the oldest player in the league.

Buffon has made an indelible mark on Italian football, having won a plethora of accolades during his illustrious career. He began his career with Parma in the 1995–96 season, at the age of 17, and made his Serie A debut in 1995. Since then, he has gone on to make 658 Serie A appearances for both Parma and Juventus, and has won 11 Serie A titles and four Coppa Italia titles.

A one-club man for most of his career with Juventus, Buffon became just the second player to lift nine consecutive Serie A titles when Juventus won their 37th championship in 2018–19.

He also helped Juve win three consecutive Coppa Italia crowns between 2015 and 2018. In 2017–18 he led them to the Champions League final, where they were defeated by Real Madrid, who eventually went on to win their third consecutive European title.

Buffon has also achieved success with the Italian national side, lifting the 2006 FIFA World Cup trophy, and lifting the UEFA Europa League, in 1999. His performances for Italy have seen him earn a number of individual awards, including four consecutive Serie A Goalkeeper of the Year awards from 2015 to 2018.

He is also Italy’s all-time leader in caps won with 176 caps, and all-time leader in clean sheets with 67. Throughout his career, Buffon has been known for his shot-stopping ability, athleticism, leadership and longevity – his long-standing record for being one of few players to play over 1,000 games for one club is testament to this.

He is an iconic figure in Serie A football, and as his career winds down, he leaves behind a legacy that will be remembered by generations of football fans.

Written by News Releases

Lascia un commento

Il tuo indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

    Serie A Legends – Paolo Maldini

    Serie A Legends – Francesco Totti